Step by Step: Painting gas tank with rattle can paint

The information presented here applies to most all motorcycles in general.
98VS1400
Joined a 1200cc Club
My Bike: Triumph Tiger EXP 1200
Moniker: Taming a Tiger

Step by Step: Painting gas tank with rattle can paint

Postby 98VS1400 » Wed Sep 17, 2014 4:15 pm

A project by: DMIntruder

So I have begun the final phase of getting the Mystery Bike 97 finished.  Since I had to replace the tank, a paint job was in order.  I am no professional painter but I have more experience with rattle can jobs than a pro airbrush.

So I ordered the colors necessary from Colorite to include the aerosol clear coat kit, KK7.

Since there was a ding in the paint all the way to bare metal I decided to strip the entire tank.  I used Klean Strip from Home Depot.  Good stuff.  It sprays out into a foam and then you just wait.  After about 15 minutes you hear crackling sounds as the paint 'pops' off.

I had to do this about 3 times as I was not in the mood to sand too much.  I did need to sand some but not too much.

Next was to clean the surface and shoot the primer.

Next was the Milky White.

Masking for the blue was the most difficult part.  It isn't perfect but pretty decent.

The next step will be to put the pin stripes on.  I got a set of double stripes just incase my paint lines didn't come out too well and I could cover them with one of the lines.  I should get to the lines sometime tomorrow.  Then the clear coat which has to cure for 5+ days.  I will post the final pictures when the clear coat is on.

Update:

I went ahead and put the pin stripes on now too.

Angel inspecting

Update:

Although I cannot prove it, I think I might have been sent the matt/flat eggshell clearcoat. The KK8.  My cans say KK7 but the finish does not look high gloss; it looks satin.

Now I sprayed exactly according to the instructions but I do not see a high gloss finish.