Juicy and Tasty Beer Can Chicken.

That's right. Ya'll gotta have some good home cookin', right?
Post your favorite stuff here. Show pics if ya wanna!
Designer
Joined a 1200cc Club
My Bike: Two 1400 Custom Made Choppers

Juicy and Tasty Beer Can Chicken.

Post by Designer »

I have been cooking this method for over 17 years now. Made all kinds of mistakes (once I put out the fire with a tipped over chicken) :blink: . It is more involved than merely throwing steaks on the Grill,...but it is SO worth it. [emoji106]

I will post it with the reasons why for each suggestion so you know what to expect from them.

Chicken Preparations:
First:...use a Chicken only about 3-3/4 to 4 pounds.
Why: Because any larger and the Breast gets WAY too big as compared to the Wings and Drumsticks. You end up overdoing them both just get the Breast fully done. To make up for a smaller sized bird, cook two birds and once. Takes the same Grill Space and Cooking Time, and you get twice as many Wings and Legs that way.

Second: Soak your Chicken in HOT tap water in the Sink for about 15 - 20 minutes before putting the Seasoning on. This is crucial!
Why: Because it does two good things.

1. It preheats all the Bones so that there is less disparity between them and the Meat . Cold bones take a longer time to heat up being they are deep inside the Bird... and so to get the Meat near them fully cooked, you overcook the Meat on the outside and dry it out
.......makes for more even cooking all around.

2. It hydrates the meat portion of the Bird,... and that is a good thing

Third: : Clean out the inside cavity well.
Why: There is often some bloody stuff and junk in there. Also, trim off all the exterior Fat. Leaving it on results in LOADS of fire. as it melts and drips. Cut off lot of the Neck Bones so there is good passage for the rising steam from the Can inside too