First time visiting a motorcycle mechanic

jfaith15
Tricycles are Cool
My Bike: 2003 Suzuki Intruder VS800

First time visiting a motorcycle mechanic

Post by jfaith15 »

Last week, I had a mechanic tow my 2003 VS800 to his shop (it wouldn’t start). I expect he will call within the next few days to tell me the diagnosis, what work it needs, and what the final cost would be.

This is my first time bringing a bike to a mechanic and my budget is really tight. I would greatly appreciate experienced riders’ advice on the following two questions:

Their labor rate is $85/hr, not including the $92 I owe for the tow and inspection - are these average prices for a shop outside a tiny city in middle-of-nowhere, upstate NY?

Also, if they tell me the bike needs other work in addition to the repairs, what should I let them do, and what work can I do myself?
I put my faith in Youtube and strangers on the internet to solve my problems.

Herb
Joined a 1200cc Club
My Bike: 1999 1400 intruder

Re: First time visiting a motorcycle mechanic

Post by Herb »

Not knowing how much mechanical expertise you have it is hard to make that call. That said, get a list of the things that need to be done and post it here along with a brief explanation of your abilities and tools available and we can help you decide what can be done by you.
Have the shop give you a written estimate for each job that needs to be done.
I can't seem to win the lottery. I think I have used up all of my good luck riding motorcycles.

Designer
Joined a 1200cc Club
My Bike: Two 1400 Custom Made Choppers

Post by Designer »

Herb's advice is exactly Spot On!!

Follow His Lead and get back to us so we can help you out.

Time To Ride Country Two Laners. :ShitGrinandThumb:

CENSORSHIP IS WHAT TYRANTS RESORT TO WHEN THEIR LIES LOOSE THEIR POWER. :space: MORS TYRANNIS
Si vis pacem, para bellum!

navigator
Joined a 1100cc Club
My Bike: VS800

Post by navigator »