Weird carb problem

tazmaniac_37752
Tricycles are Cool
My Bike: Suzuki intruder

Weird carb problem

Post by tazmaniac_37752 »

Hello. A friend of mine has a vs800 and between me and him we've tried about everything. He rebuilt the carbs put them back on and now no matter how he sets his float and BTW he's had two different needle valves in it and he found a pin he in the original float so he's replaced it also. Back to the point no matter what he's done fuel still runs out the over flow hole on the rear carb. I'm a purdy good mechanic but this has got me stumped. We are now down to thinking maybe a stuck valve allowing compression back in to the carb and that's causing fuel to run out the over flow any ideas would be great and highly appreciated but plz don't be surprised if we've already tryed the idea you post. Thanks in advance.
I ain't done parking yet.

hillsy v2
Bike out of hock
My Bike: Too many to list

Re: Weird carb problem

Post by hillsy v2 »

There's only one way the carb will spew fuel back out the overflow - and that's because the carb is flooding. Won't have anything to do with sticking valves in the engine.

Either the float is sticking open, the float valve is not sealing or the o-ring for the valve seat is leaking. These bikes have fuel pumps so if there's even the slightest bit of blow by / leakage the carb can flood very quickly.

When you say he's "rebuilt" the carbs - did he remove / replace the float valve seat and ensure a new o-ring was installed?

Lechy
Joined a 1000cc Club
My Bike: VS800 Honda Phantom 200

Post by Lechy »