Pick up coil hit the flywheel!

Toyshop9665
Tricycles are Cool
My Bike: Yamaha RD400

Pick up coil hit the flywheel!

Post by Toyshop9665 »

Hello everyone. A little back story on me. I’ve been wrenching on small engines for about ten years off and on and I’ve started a little side hustle bringing in customer work. Well I’ve got in here a 2000 Suzuki intruder 800. The guy said that he was riding it in a parade and it stalled. He found that it lost spark and he proceeded to tear apart the rear air box and take the fuse panel out of it and the battery box. No luck. So two years later he brings me boxes of parts and asks if I can look at it. Tested the stator and pick up and the pickup was out of spec. So I ordered a Caltric stator/pickup new off of eBay thinking it was my cheapest option like $60. So I install it and still nothing. I found that the one pickup bolt vibrated out and fell out letting the pickup pivot down and bounce off the stator and broke the plastic. It did beat up the bosses on the outside of the stator. Does the pickup need a sharp edge to pickup a signal? Will it be out of time now? Is there any way to check clearance of the pickup? Can I test the signal from the pickup? Any help? I have a Clymer manual and I’ve tested most of the switches. Thanks!

navigator
Joined a 1100cc Club
My Bike: VS800

Re: Pick up coil hit the flywheel!

Post by navigator »

Lots of info in the service manual found here:
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=3346

Toyshop9665
Tricycles are Cool

Post by Toyshop9665 »

It says I don’t have permission to see it. Could it be that I’m on my phone?

navigator
Joined a 1100cc Club

Post by navigator »

Permission???
You can't see the thread? Or is it you can't see the pdf download.
The download is rather large...you may want to try something other than a phone.

navigator
Joined a 1100cc Club

Post by navigator »

The pdf is 15279KB of data.

Toyshop9665
Tricycles are Cool

Post by Toyshop9665 »