Battery Dying and Rough Idle

theK_Brick
Tricycles are Cool
My Bike: 97 Suzuki Intruder 1400

Battery Dying and Rough Idle

Post by theK_Brick »

Okay since you guys are the most knowledgeable on the subject I have one for you! Sorry for the length I am still a newbie

I have been riding around my bike for about a month (97 VS1400) every other day or so getting familiar with it. I have put about 100 miles on it. Last week I went out and jumped on my bike after it sitting for three days to find the battery dead. So I jumped it and went to start it and every time I tried to start it the battery died again.

After about three times I finally got it started and running. However when it got running it ran super rough almost as if it was puttering along. (If I figure it out I will post videos of the sound that I took) As well as that I could visibly see the power was surging as if the bike doesn’t have enough current because the headlight and turn signals would get stronger and then dim repeatedly. I went to hit the throttle because I thought something may be gumming up the carbs and it died. I turned it off and the battery was dead again.

So now I am super confused. I understand the carbs probably need tuned in a little better but that doesn’t solve my power issue.

Yesterday I completely gutted the bike. I have the rear air box out the fuse block off, all the wiring unhooked. I also stripped all the turn signals to help eliminate things that draw power. I have used a test light when the battery is charged I have power all the way to the solenoid but once I hit start the battery is dead again.

Any ideas and all help is greatly appreciated. I want to be able to get my bike back on the road for what is left of the season.

Here are the videos

Spacecoast
Passed the Circle Test
My Bike: Yamaha FZ-09 Suzuki S83

Re: Battery Dying and Rough Idle

Post by Spacecoast »